top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndy Ye

ミシガン Stools。

Updated: Jun 5, 2019


Yuppers this is Day #21, Post #28 and I'm still on track and posting these updates day by day :) Wow like it's really hitting right now that the program is going to be over soon and I really fell in love with what I'm doing and realized how much I'll miss everyone after this trip (we better stay in touch!!). Just to say now, I don't think I'll ever catch up to the point where I can explain this project to yalls so I'm going to do that during my time in China I think so stay tuned! Today's weather was amazing and the morning run was a lot of fun. When we got to the lab we basically finished up what we were doing yesterday and started making Michigan stools that were designed and made by last years group but this year we are making them for the Genki Ichiba that newly opened. They wanted 3 benches and 12 stools I think so today was used to build the stools :) The first half of the day was used to catch up from yesterday and then making the sides of the stool (so 24 pieces in total). After that we took a little break and to thank the team for hosting the bbq we made tacos for the team for lunch today!

The pictures can explain themselves but it was a lot of fun prepping the food! Some of the food Nick brought from the US (Kroger specifically haha). We grilled the food over charcoal and it was so rewarding when we finished and feasted with everyone :) Chiba-san really liked the food I think and everyone seemed happy; I'm glad that the idea worked out! The last picture is pineapple and I don't think I've ever had pineapple like this so it was really good. After the meal Chiba-san and Rebekah said that maybe this Saturday they could take us to Sui Sui bar for dinner (and drinks possible ehehe) so I'm really looking forward to that! Chiba-san lives near the bar so he wanted us to meet his daughter and practice English with her and I would loveee to do that! I think later on this trip we are going to a high school for English practice with the students and I CAN'T WAITT.

After that we went back to work and finished the 12 stools! Doing all this in one day felt really rewarding and I'm glad that we were pretty productive today.

Here's a cute group picture! There is a different picture that has Nick in it that Rebekah took (on her BADASS camera hehe) but I have yet to get it so maybe I'll share it again later haha.

And then the rest of the day was chill~ We went to the supermarket near the lab to buy ingredients for the taiyaki workshop that we are doing tomorrow! So basically we are learning how to make taiyaki and besides of using their fillings, we are making our own! My plan is that I want to make two: one that has white grape/aloe flavor and I got yogurt for that, and then another one that uses like a wasabi trail mix and crunching that up and putting it into plain yogurt and using that all to create a light wasabi taste :) If I can only make one, I think I'm going to do the white grape/ aloe one because that shit slaps. But yea for a little bit we went to the park behind the Manga Museum again and played some soccer and basketball. On our way there Shayaan, Grant, and I went to a sports shop and bought a cheap basketball and played 21. It was a lot of fun and high key might try to do it more often cause its good exercise and I want to also improve my basketball skills :'). For the first picture, that was what I ate for dinner! Fish (Idk if I ever said but his real name is LinChen haha), Estella, Linh, Nick, and I went to the ramen and gyoza shop which was finally open today (the restaurant is called トラノイ食堂)! This was the place where I got white miso ramen and gyoza the first time* Today I ordered this one red oil noodle dish and gyoza. The noodle had no soup and was just plain ramen with two scoops of the oil and oof that was amazing. It was the right level of spicy and I could down another one haha. I'm for sure coming back and hopefully maybe 3 more times? Idk, I'm running out of time and I really want to try different kinds of food :'3. But yea to end the day I literally found ice cream that was white grape/ aloe flavor! Turns out it was ice chunks with the flavor and besides of finishing it I plan to use it in the white grape/ aloe taiyaki tomorrow to add texture but we'll see what happens haha. I'm looking forward to the coming days so gn/gm~

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page