top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndy Ye

小芥子 Fun。


This is Day #18, Post #25 and I'm finally caught up again haha. Hopefully from this point forward I'll stay caught up but les get into it cause it was a really cool day.

So first I started the day kind of late cause I slept in after being up so late the night before lol; I skipped on running today :( lol. OH I don't think I mentioned this but one day I had to get up at 6 am for my run and so I found a group of older people doing yoga up on the hill and they asked me to join and I really like them. I think I'm gonna continue to wake up at 6 am each day just to see them and interact with them. Remember how I wanted to find a group of local people that I can interact with on this trip? Well, I think they might be the people! :) But yea started the day late, then we went to a dog festival that was going on during the day and we saw so many cute dogs! Although its not pictured I love Shiba Inu so much and my desire for one after I settle down has increased ten fold because of this trip lol. The middle picture is being posted because I liked the shot and Fish just being his usual cutesy self so enjoy~ haha. There was also a hoya festival which we really didn't get a chance to check out but we stopped by~ Also it was community day on Pokemon Go so we caught ourselves some Torchics! I caught a shiny so that was cool :) Literally everyone was playing that was out and it was such a funny site. Every pokestop had a lure module on it and it was just crazy xD I wonder if its like this back in Ann Arbor too lol.

But the main thing today was that we made kokeshi which are simple wooden Japanese dolls with no arms and legs. I might share more pictures/ stories another time if yalls are interested but the gist of it was that IT WAS SO COOL. The person pictured above on the left is Haiyashi-san and he was the one who taught us how to make the kokeshi dolls. He was really cool and I think I'm going to revisit the shop and watch him work because the work that he does is incredible and I would love to just learn more. I don't have a picture on hand but during my time there, I saw this really cool kokeshi that was really unique and I told Haiyashi-san this and he literally said I could keep it! I got kinda emotional and I'm so grateful for this opportunity :') But yea I think that's it to catch up on. It was a pretty simple day but like all the other days, I freakin love it here and am learning so much. I realized that I'm not putting enough time into practicing my Japanese and will need to step it up if I want to improve so I think that's what I'm going to do right now haha. BUT good night/ good morning yalls~ and hopefully yalls shall hear from me tomorrow!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page