top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndy Ye

明治 Shrine。


Taken at the entrance of the Meiji Shrine :)

Gah this place is so beautiful, this is day #6, post #15~ First CAN WE ADMIRE HOW ROUND THOSE TREES IN THE PICTURE ABOVE ARE? LIKE SERIOUSLY THEY LOOK SO JUICY. But We went to Meiji Shrine today! The shrine is dedicated to the deified spirits of Emperor Meiji and his wife, Empress Shōken. I love shrines (Shinto sites of worship) and temples (Buddhist) so much gah they bring such a good and magical vibe to them. The shrine was right next to the Harajuku Station that we got off at and it was just so beautiful. Side note: Fish got me back into Pokemon Go and so at the shrine a raid was going on and so some of us teamed up to beat the Gengar and I CAUGHT IT SKRRT.

Pictured was the Torii in front of the Meiji Shrine~

Yes the torii isn't red but it was still massive and so pretty. A torri is a Japanese gate where it symbolically marks the transition from the mundane to the sacred. I really don't know much about this and will definitely look into it more when I get a chance! But I did read that these ones at this shrine are the biggest wooden ones in Japan ( think!) and that the wood came from Taiwan :).

And once agane here's another group picture that we took. So I asked this couple (I think they were dating lol) if they could take our picture and I was told that the boyfriend gave us the dirtiest look as the girlfriend agreed. LIKE DAMN I was ready to throw hands geez people need to chill lol.

So actually the Meiji Shrine happened first and then we walked the street market but I'm still posting these in the order that I had in mind. After the street market adventures, we made our way to Shibuya again and went to have some bbq! The food was really good and gah- it wasn't kobe beef (we decided not to do it today hehe) but it was still really enjoyable! But yea lemme just talk for a hot minute about how I felt during dinner today. So I got all sad/quiet/not myself during dinner and the whole group was so supportive and I was so mad at myself cause I really didn't know why I was mad and couldn't snap out of it. Luckily after dinner everything was back to normal and it was all fun and games again :') But like omg I realized today how much I love these guys. It's high key so wholesome and I know that to those who know me, I have a really dirty mind/ mouth but this group has been a really nice change and has been SOOOOO MUCH FUN so thank you guys <3

To end the post, here's a picture of us at the Shibuya Crossing :) The girl in the back left is Rosemary and she joined us today! She is such a cool person and so happy to have met her. She was able to get to the hostel and meet us in Shibuya all by herself, LIKE DAMN, that honors difference tho ;) lol. I'm really tired now and it's almost 2 am so I'm gonna go to sleep LOL. Thanks to those who reads these lol. They are a joy to make and can't wait to look back at these later myself and just, yea... :) Meeting up with the rest of the cohort tomorrow so hopefully yalls will be able to see everyone soon enough! OH random thought but I just wanted to say that I'm getting pretty good at finding exact change when buying things with my coins hehe ;) I'm a local now (jk, still have my jenky Japanese lol).

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page